top of page
Going for a Run
Understanding Medicare

Medicare is broken into four main parts: A, B, C & D. While some are mandatory, others are optional. In general, the four Medicare parts cover different services, so it's important that you understand the options to find what fits you best.

What is Medicare?

There are four basic parts of Medicare: A, B, C and D.  Each part helps pay for certain services and may have costs included. Your Medicare costs will depend on what coverage you choose and on what health care services you use. Watch our short video or read below to learn more!

Medical Consultation

Part B
Medical Coverage

Part B covers 2 types of services:

  • Medically necessary services: Services or supplies that are needed to diagnose or treat your medical condition (such as a CPAP Machine) and that meet accepted standards of medical practice.

  • Preventive services: Health care to prevent illness or detect it at an early stage, when treatment is most likely to work best.

Portrait of a Young Doctor

Part C
Medicare Advantage

In general, Medicare Advantage plans are private health plans that you can choose instead of Medicare. You would get your Part A, Part B, and sometimes also Part D all from one insurance carrier.


Advantage plans usually have a network of providers from whom you will seek your care.

Prescription Medication

Part D
Prescription Coverage

Part D plans cover prescription drugs and provides significant discounts on your medication copays. 

Let's Talk!

To speak with a Legacy team member please fill out the form below or call (952) 922-5677.

Thanks for submitting!
bottom of page